The Nobel Prize committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2013 to François Englert and Peter Higgs for “the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider”.


Congratulations to François Englert and Peter Higgs.

The image shows LHCb spokesperson Pierluigi Campana showing the LHCb detector to Peter Higgs on December 18th, 2012.


click the image for higher resolution

By admin